I Hate Steamboat

“I hate steamboat.”

That is what I always tell my wife whenever we’re having steamboat.

Ironically, it’s among her top, most favourite types of food.

Honestly, I don’t hate steamboat all that much. I admit, actually I find the fish balls, pork, fish paste, fishcakes, boiled cabbage, and occasional imitation crab sticks pretty tasty.

In life, when you meet someone you love, oftentimes you become influenced by them, and eventually you start to learn to love the things that they do.

It’s not because you’re being pretentious or that you’re trying to impress or please the other person. Rather, it’s because you truly love that person. And when you truly love a person, you want to know what they love and why they love it. How would you understand unless you participate actively?

I learnt to enjoy steamboat after meeting my wife. And not just steamboat.

Bowling. Art. Karaoke. Riding on long-haul international flights to visit foreign lands.

Being honest about my feelings. Being open to receive and give criticism with respect while understanding that it’s OK to disagree and to voice your disagreement because we love each other and we trust each other to figure stuff out because we’re a team. (Yeah that was a mouthful.)

So no. Actually I don’t hate steamboat.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑