2021

Highlights of the year 2021!

January 2021

The entire world was still coming to grips with the temporary reality of living with COVID-19. The lockdowns, restrictions and social distancing was supposed to be a temporary measure but at this point, it felt pretty permanent and I think I was ready to concede that it was going to be the long term normal.

With that in mind, there wasn’t much to do. We mostly stayed at home and honestly, I don’t know how or what we did to pass the time.

February 2021

We had a low-key Chinese New Year celebration to welcome the Year of the Ox. It was also during this month that we witnessed an aurora for the first time!

March 2021

It was extremely busy at work for me. As it was the last month of our company’s fiscal year, there was a mad rush to complete and close as many jobs and projects as possible.

April 2021

PY was laid off from her job. It came as a rude shock and she suffered a mental breakdown as she came to terms with the decision. Overally, it was a bittersweet blessing in disguise. On one hand, our family was down to only single income. On the other, she had been miserable at work – long working hours due to commuting and work load, uncooperative co-workers, unsupportive manager… She told me she has had premonitions about being laid off but hadn’t expected it to happen so early.

That aside…. During the Good Friday long weekend, we visited our friends in Calgary and made a short trip to Drumheller.

As spring came to take winter’s place, the weather improved so on other weekends, we visited a few parks in Edmonton.

May 2021

We continued visiting parks despite the chilly weather – anything to get out of the house after being cooped up indoors for months. At least it was becoming more and more sunny.

We also received our first doses of the COVID vaccine.

We wanted to try our hand at online business, so we incorporated a company and attended online courses.

June 2021

Summer had finally arrived. We visited a few lakes/beaches. Wynnie visited our neighbourhood playground at every possible chance.

We received our second doses of the COVID vaccine this month.

In the meantime, we were struggling to get our business off the ground.

July 2021

During the Canada Day long weekend, friends from Calgary came to visit. Unfortunately, it was also the annual heat wave at that time. We had warned them in advance that our house didn’t have AC so it was going to get pretty balmy but they were not fazed. It was great to meet friends, just to chat over nice meals. It made me realize how much I missed having close friends, both in the physical and abstract sense.

We also found out that PY was pregnant! Due date March 2022!

August 2021

With COVID restrictions slightly loosened, we decided to go on a road trip. We visited Canmore, Banff, Cranbrook, Waterton Park and Calgary.

September 2021

It was our birthday month, so we had countless celebrations lol

Took Wynnie to Jurassic Forest.

We also visited Camrose.

October 2021

Fall had come.

This also meant Halloween!

November 2021

Wynnie caught a cold, and that in turn got PY and I sick too.

I was under a lot of stress from work and a few things happening at home. I didn’t handle my stress well. As a result, I suffered serious eye infections, resulting with multiple styes that had my eyes swollen shut. I had to take time off work to recuperate and it was (excuse the pun) an eye-opening experience.

I was reminded that deliberate, intentional and systematic effort is needed to maintain my mental health.

December 2021

PY was 5 months pregnant by then, so her belly was starting to grow.

We threw a birthday party for Wynnie.

We also had more friends visit us from Calgary. They had only very recently moved to Canada for work, so it was nice to connect with friendly folks.

Conclusion

I would say in 2021, my family experienced the lowest low we’ve ever faced. And at the time I’m writing of this, it feels like 2022 is going to be more of the same. But I am hopeful, because I believe that humans are resilient. We can bounce back from setbacks and tough times.

For 2022, I think the motto of the year for me is “start now.” The saying that “the best time to plant a tree is 20 years ago; the second best time is today” is resonating very often in my mind. I don’t know what tree I’m planting, but I will let my subconscious guide me and years down the road, I believe I will reap the fruits.

Just gotta hang in there until then.

Here we go 2022.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑